keynote speakerProf. Dr. Hami Alpas

Food Engineering Department
Middle East Technical University
Read more

Prof. Dr. Hami Alpas is a Food Engineer and also holds an MBA degree from Dept. of Business Administration on Total Quality Management. His main research areas are: Unit Operations in Food Engineering, Non-thermal Food Processing Technologies, Food Quality, Threats to the global food supply chain, Food Safety and Food Security through Total Food Protection and Food Defense.

He has served as a “visiting scholar” in 1996 and 1998 at University of Wyoming, USA; as a “visiting scientist” in 2001 and 2002 at Ohio State University, USA and as a “visiting professor” in 2006, 2007 and 2008 at University of Bordeaux I, France. He has participated to the Food Defense Collaborative Exchange Programme as an expert at the Food Protection and Defense Institute (USA) in 2013 and in 2017.

He has supervised 5 Ph.D and 14 M.Sc. thesis. He has 87 international journal articles (SCI) and over 1450 citations (ISI-Web of Science; h-factor 23) as well as close to 60 academic presentations in 45 different international meetings. He has Co-Chaired international conferences and gave keynote and invited speeches.

He has completed 15 national, 4 international projects including EU/JRC, CNRS-EGIDE and NATO ARW/ATC projects. He has authored 13 chapters in internationally edited books and has edited 3 international books by Springer on Food Chain Security, Eco-terrorism and Food Defense. He has also organized and co-directed 3 NATO-workshops (ARW-ATC). He was the Co-director of NATO-SPS project on “Food Chain Security” (2004-2009) and EU-FP7 project on “Plant Food Security”.


Prof. Narendra Mohan

National Sugar Institute,India



Prof. Narendra Mohan after completing Post Graduation in Sugar Technology carried out studies further for award of Fellowship of National Sugar Institute. He has a long and distinguished career of working in sugar industry and at the institute. As Director, National Sugar Institute, Kanpur he has carried out exemplary work in bringing a radical change in the academic, research and consultancy activities of the institute and making its presence felt globally.

Prof. Narendra Mohan besides being an excellent, popular and inspiring teacher, has been a  research worker par excellence who has published more than 80 papers in various international and national journals. His passion for innovative work to covert “Waste to resource” resulted in development of many cost effective and environment friendly technologies , like, “Production of bio-surfactant from bagasse”, “Production of Bio-CNG from Press Mud & other Agricultural Waste” and on “Production of Sulphur Free Sugar”. He is the Chairman of the Sectional Committee of Bureau of Indian Standards which formulates quality standards for sugar and sugar derivatives.

His merit and commendable work carried out for improving productivity of sugar industry has been acknowledged globally for which he has been conferred with many prestigious awards, such as :

  1. Sardar GMS Mann Gold Medal for being “Professional of the Year 2013”.
  2. ISGEC Gold Medal –Engineering for Excellence in 2015.
  3. Deccan Sugar Technologists Association of India Award in 2015 for best research paper on “Innovative approach to enhance the profitability of North Indian Sugar Factories”.
  4. “Antardhwani Award” for contribution in development of technology for production of Sulphur-less sugar.
  5. Dr Bansi Dhar Gold Medal in 2016 for the best paper on “Use of Carbon Di-oxide from distillery Fermenters to produce Sulphur less sugar”.
  6. STAI Silver Medal in 2016 for research paper on “Bagasse Gassification”.
  7. NISSTA Award in 2016 for exemplary work carried out for converting NSI into an institute of global eminence.
  8. Bhartiya Sugar Award 2017 for “Overall Outstanding Performance-Institutional Head”
  9. “Industry Excellence Award-2017” from The Sugar Technologists Association of India.
  10. “Excellence in Science-2018” by the Society of Agriculture Scientists.
  11. “Noel Deerr Gold Medal- 2018 by the Sugar Technologists Association of India.