Conference Chairs

Prof. K.K.D.S. Ranaweera

Senior Professor of Food Science and Technology,
Chair/Department of Food Science and Technology,
University of Sri Jayewardenepura,
Nugegoda, Sri Lanka.


Prof. K.K.D.S. Ranaweera currently working as the Director to the Bandaranaike Memorial Ayurveda Research Institute (BMARI) at Maharagama and a Member of Board of Governors in Institute of Food Science and Technology Sri Lanka. Till September 2011 he headed the Department of Food Science and Technology, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka. He is supervising PhD, MPhil and MSc students of areas related to Food Science and Technology and Human Nutrition. Prof. Ranaweera also worked in different areas of work like Java World Congress (JWC) 2010, an International event where they build up Social capital to help achieving Millennium Development Goals. International Potash Institute is another institute he works for.


Dr. Jagath Jayasinghe 
Department of Food Science and Technology
University of Sri Jayewardenepura 

Dr. Jagath Jayasinghe joined the Department of Food Science and Technology, Faculty of Applied Sciences, University of Sri Jayewardenepura as a Senior Lecturer in 2010. He has been teaching Food Marketing, Consumer Behavior and Food Business Management. Dr. Jayasinghe’s research interests include food marketing, consumer behavior & food Choices, and indigenous foods.

Prior to joining the faculty, he served as a Senior Program Manager and an Economist in foreign funded agriculture based livelihood development projects in Sri Lanka.

In addition to his role as a faculty member, he was the Chairman of the Committee for the Popularization of Science (2014) and the President of Section B- Agriculture and Forestry (2013) at the Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science.

He obtained a bachelor’s degree in Agriculture from the University of Peradeniya, a MSc in Food Science and Technology from the University of Sri Jayewardenepura and a PhD in Management and Economics in Agriculture and Forestry from the Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan.

Scientific Committee

  • Nor Khaizura Mahmud, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Poonam Mishra, Tezpur University, India
  • Prof. Rubel Mojumdar, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Bangladesh
  • Khaleda Islam, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Nor Afizah Mustapha, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Sharmila Easwaran, Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
  • Anis Shobirin Meor Hussin, Universiti Putra Malaysia
  • Md. Shahjahan, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Maimunah Sanny, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Hanan Bin Hasan, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Ismail Fitry Bin Mohammad Rashedi, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Nur Hanani Zainal Abidin, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Chanida Hansawasdi, Mahidol University, Thailand
  • Padmini Shankar, Georgia Southern University, Georgia
  •  Krishanthi Premarathne, Wayamba University, Sri Lanka
  •  S. B. Navarathne, University of Jayawardanapura, Sri Lanka
  • Udaya Rathnayaka, Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka